menu arrow-left logo cross Fleur

Watch hands
tell their own story

(scroll to navigate)

History of the company

“A factory, a family, a purpose”

Founded in 1890 by Louis-Georges Bovet at 11, Chemin de Comba-Borel, in Neuchâtel, the company was taken over on 1st June 1916 by Lucien Girard, who ran it until 1936. During those twenty years Lucien Girard suffered many setbacks and the company was on the verge of bankruptcy when the Girardin family acquired it in 1936.

Tireless efforts were needed to steady the tiller: amidst the work of rebuilding tools, improving manufacturing processes and training qualified personnel, the new owner had to play the role of technician, businessman and salesman at the same time.

Having started with five workers, Aiguilla currently employs around 170 people.

We have moved on from the modest quarters of those early days at Chemin du Clos. As a result of nearly eight decades of work the firm now occupies a wonderful factory surrounded by magnificent parkland.

To allow the story to continue, substantial investments have been made to develop and modernize the company.


Manufacture

Manufacture

Fernand Girardin, Founder

Fernand Girardin, fondateur
Adrian Girardin, directeur technique

Adrien Girardin, Technical Director

Pierre Girardin, président

Pierre Girardin, President

History of the watch hand

The watch hand preceded the watch. As far back as Neolithic times (6000 BC-2500 BC) man measured days and years by means of the shadow cast by a raised stone. This gave an approximate indication of the time. But man's inventive mind did not remain content with this rudimentary method: he transformed the stone into a slender needle: the Egyptian obelisk, forerunner of the sundial.

Much later came the clepsydra or water-clock of the ancients, the predecessor of instruments for measuring time, which featured one of the very first "watch hands".

In the 14th century, clock towers with a single hand indicating the hour were operated by a system of weights. Much progress was made in the 15th century, which saw the advent of the spring as motive power.

Finally it was in the 16th century that the first watches were developed, albeit with only an hour hand on the watch face. In 1691, the minute hand made its appearance. In those days, the production of hands was a manual task. They were cut with a saw from a strip of metal, laminated for thickness and then filed to the desired shape. A single pair of hands required two days’ hard work. In 1812 the first watch hands factory was established, the firm of Wagnon Frères in Geneva.

At the dawn of the 19th century around sixty watch hand factories were operating. However the modernization of equipment, in addition to other factors, gradually reduced their number and today barely a dozen remain in existence.

History of the company

“A factory, a family, a purpose”

Founded in 1890 by Louis-Georges Bovet at 11, Chemin de Comba-Borel, in Neuchâtel, the company was taken over on 1st June 1916 by Lucien Girard, who ran it until 1936. During those twenty years Lucien Girard suffered many setbacks and the company was on the verge of bankruptcy when the Girardin family acquired it in 1936.

Tireless efforts were needed to steady the tiller: amidst the work of rebuilding tools, improving manufacturing processes and training qualified personnel, the new owner had to play the role of technician, businessman and salesman at the same time.

Having started with five workers, Aiguilla currently employs around 170 people.

We have moved on from the modest quarters of those early days at Chemin du Clos. As a result of nearly eight decades of work the firm now occupies a wonderful factory surrounded by magnificent parkland.

To allow the story to continue, substantial investments have been made to develop and modernize the company.

-

History of the watch hand

The watch hand preceded the watch. As far back as Neolithic times (6000 BC-2500 BC) man measured days and years by means of the shadow cast by a raised stone. This gave an approximate indication of the time. But man's inventive mind did not remain content with this rudimentary method: he transformed the stone into a slender needle: the Egyptian obelisk, forerunner of the sundial.

Much later came the clepsydra or water-clock of the ancients, the predecessor of instruments for measuring time, which featured one of the very first "watch hands".

In the 14th century, clock towers with a single hand indicating the hour were operated by a system of weights. Much progress was made in the 15th century, which saw the advent of the spring as motive power.

Finally it was in the 16th century that the first watches were developed, albeit with only an hour hand on the watch face. In 1691, the minute hand made its appearance. In those days, the production of hands was a manual task. They were cut with a saw from a strip of metal, laminated for thickness and then filed to the desired shape. A single pair of hands required two days’ hard work. In 1812 the first watch hands factory was established, the firm of Wagnon Frères in Geneva.

At the dawn of the 19th century around sixty watch hand factories were operating. However the modernization of equipment, in addition to other factors, gradually reduced their number and today barely a dozen remain in existence.

-

Contact

Aiguilla SA

Rue du Coteau 10
CH 2500 Bienne 4

Tél: +41 (0) 32 344 65 65
Fax: +41 (0) 32 344 65 66

info@aiguilla.ch

Baselworld

23 to 30 March 2017
Halle 2.2 -Stand C23

www.baselworld.com

Job opportunities

Please refer to french version

Aiguilla SA, Ressources Humaines, Rue du Coteau 10, 2500 Bienne 4
administration@aiguilla.ch

Information

Annual closures:

Monday 26 December 2016 to Friday 6 January 2017

Friday 14 July to Friday 4 August 2017

Contact

Aiguilla SA

Rue du Coteau 10
CH 2500 Bienne 4

Tél: +41 (0) 32 344 65 65
Fax: +41 (0) 32 344 65 66

info@aiguilla.ch

Baselworld

23 to 30 March 2017
Halle 2.2 -Stand C23

www.baselworld.com

Job opportunities

Please refer to french version

Aiguilla SA, Ressources Humaines, Rue du Coteau 10, 2500 Bienne 4
administration@aiguilla.ch

Information

Annual closures:

Monday 26 December 2016 to Friday 6 January 2017

Friday 14 July to Friday 4 August 2017

Development

The production of high quality hands for which Aiguilla SA is renowned requires no fewer than 15 to 20 operations per hand, from the construction of tooling and preparation of materials to the placing of finished hands on cards for delivery.

Design of tooling

All tools used to manufacture a hand are designed and constructed in Aiguilla's machine workshop. Because machine builders have not always been able to keep pace with the technical demands of high quality hand manufacturing, Aiguilla SA produced its own machines and continues to develop them today.

Manufacture of the hand

Our hands, made of brass, steel or gold – most with a diamond-finished surface – meet the very highest quality requirements and adorn the timepieces of the most prestigious brands.

The hands are placed one by one, with tweezers, on traditional small cards and inserted under slender loops to hold them in place. This final task is a meticulous operation carried out by hand which has never been replaced by an automated process.

Finished product

The Aiguilla SA collection contains more than ten thousand models. But since each one corresponds to a specific request from our clients, this figure in fact is closer to several million distinct profiles.

Development

The production of high quality hands for which Aiguilla SA is renowned requires no fewer than 15 to 20 operations per hand, from the construction of tooling and preparation of materials to the placing of finished hands on cards for delivery.


Click to view the video

Design of tooling

All tools used to manufacture a hand are designed and constructed in Aiguilla's machine workshop. Because machine builders have not always been able to keep pace with the technical demands of high quality hand manufacturing, Aiguilla SA produced its own machines and continues to develop them today.

Click to view the video

Manufacture of the hand

Our hands, made of brass, steel or gold – most with a diamond-finished surface – meet the very highest quality requirements and adorn the timepieces of the most prestigious brands.

The hands are placed one by one, with tweezers, on traditional small cards and inserted under slender loops to hold them in place. This final task is a meticulous operation carried out by hand which has never been replaced by an automated process.

Click to view the video

Finished product

The Aiguilla SA collection contains more than ten thousand models. But since each one corresponds to a specific request from our clients, this figure in fact is closer to several million distinct profiles.

Click to view the video

menu arrow-left logo cross Fleur

Nos aiguilles
pilotent le temps

(scroll to navigate)

Histoire de l'entreprise

«Une fabrique, une famille, un but»

Fondée en 1890 par Louis-Georges Bovet, au 11 du chemin de Comba-Borel, à Neuchâtel, la maison est reprise le 1er juin 1916 par Lucien Girard, qui la dirige jusqu’en 1936. Durant ces vingt ans, Lucien Girard connaît bien des déboires et, lorsque la famille Girardin la rachète en 1936, l’entreprise est au bord de la faillite.

Des efforts inlassables sont alors nécessaires pour redresser la barre, recréer des outillages, améliorer les procédés de fabrication et former du personnel qualifié. Il s’agit pour son nouveau propriétaire d’être tout à la fois technicien, commerçant et vendeur.

Partie de cinq ouvriers, Aiguilla occupe actuellement 170 collaborateurs.

Nous sommes ainsi bien loin du modeste logement des débuts, chemin du Clos, car l’entreprise, fruit de plus d'une septantaine d’années de travail, est aujourd’hui installée dans une belle fabrique entourée d’un magnifique grand parc.

Afin que l’histoire se poursuive, d’importants investissements sont consacrés au développement et à la modernisation de l’entreprise.


Manufacture

Manufacture

Fernand Girardin, fondateur

Fernand Girardin, fondateur
Adrian Girardin, directeur technique

Adrien Girardin, directeur technique

Pierre Girardin, président

Pierre Girardin, président

Histoire de l'aiguille

L’aiguille a précédé la montre. Les hommes du Néolithique (6000-2500 av. J.-C.) mesuraient déjà les jours et les années grâce à l’ombre d’une pierre levée qui leur indiquait l’heure approximative. Mais l’esprit inventif de l’homme ne s’est pas contenté de cet instrument rudimentaire; il a d’abord transformé la pierre en une svelte aiguille: l’obélisque égyptien, ancêtre du cadran solaire.

Bien plus tard vint la clepsydre, horloge à eau des anciens, un aïeul des instruments à mesurer le temps, où figure déjà l’une des premières aiguilles.

Au XIVe siècle, les tours d'horloges équipées d’une seule aiguille, indiquant l’heure, fonctionnent sous la traction d’un poids. Au XVe siècle, grand progrès: le ressort devient la force motrice.

C’est ensuite au XVIe siècle qu’apparaissent les premières montres. Elles ne comportent toujours que l’aiguille des heures. En 1691 enfin, voici venir l’aiguille des minutes. Les aiguilles étaient alors entièrement fabriquées à la main. Elles étaient découpées au bocfil dans une bande de métal, laminées pour l’épaisseur, puis limées au profil désiré. Une seule paire d’aiguilles requérait deux journées de travail assidu. En 1812 a été fondée la première fabrique d’aiguilles, la maison Wagnon Frères à Genève.

Au seuil du XIXe siècle, on recensait une soixantaine de fabriques d’aiguilles. Toutefois, la modernisation de l’équipement, jointe à d’autres facteurs, en a progressivement réduit le nombre: on n’en compte plus qu’une dizaine aujourd’hui.

Histoire de l'entreprise

«Une fabrique, une famille, un but»

Fondée en 1890 par Louis-Georges Bovet, au 11 du chemin de Comba-Borel, à Neuchâtel, la maison est reprise le 1er juin 1916 par Lucien Girard, qui la dirige jusqu’en 1936. Durant ces vingt ans, Lucien Girard connaît bien des déboires et, lorsque la famille Girardin la rachète en 1936, l’entreprise est au bord de la faillite.

Des efforts inlassables sont alors nécessaires pour redresser la barre, recréer des outillages, améliorer les procédés de fabrication et former du personnel qualifié. Il s’agit pour son nouveau propriétaire d’être tout à la fois technicien, commerçant et vendeur.

Partie de cinq ouvriers, Aiguilla occupe actuellement 170 collaborateurs.

Nous sommes ainsi bien loin du modeste logement des débuts, chemin du Clos, car l’entreprise, fruit de plus d'une septantaine d’années de travail, est aujourd’hui installée dans une belle fabrique entourée d’un magnifique grand parc.

Afin que l’histoire se poursuive, d’importants investissements sont consacrés au développement et à la modernisation de l’entreprise.

-

Histoire de l'aiguille

L’aiguille a précédé la montre. Les hommes du Néolithique (6000-2500 av. J.-C.) mesuraient déjà les jours et les années grâce à l’ombre d’une pierre levée qui leur indiquait l’heure approximative. Mais l’esprit inventif de l’homme ne s’est pas contenté de cet instrument rudimentaire; il a d’abord transformé la pierre en une svelte aiguille: l’obélisque égyptien, ancêtre du cadran solaire.

Bien plus tard vint la clepsydre, horloge à eau des anciens, un aïeul des instruments à mesurer le temps, où figure déjà l’une des premières aiguilles.

Au XIVe siècle, les tours d'horloges équipées d’une seule aiguille, indiquant l’heure, fonctionnent sous la traction d’un poids. Au XVe siècle, grand progrès: le ressort devient la force motrice.

C’est ensuite au XVIe siècle qu’apparaissent les premières montres. Elles ne comportent toujours que l’aiguille des heures. En 1691 enfin, voici venir l’aiguille des minutes. Les aiguilles étaient alors entièrement fabriquées à la main. Elles étaient découpées au bocfil dans une bande de métal, laminées pour l’épaisseur, puis limées au profil désiré. Une seule paire d’aiguilles requérait deux journées de travail assidu. En 1812 a été fondée la première fabrique d’aiguilles, la maison Wagnon Frères à Genève.

Au seuil du XIXe siècle, on recensait une soixantaine de fabriques d’aiguilles. Toutefois, la modernisation de l’équipement, jointe à d’autres facteurs, en a progressivement réduit le nombre: on n’en compte plus qu’une dizaine aujourd’hui.

-

Contact

Aiguilla SA

Rue du Coteau 10
CH 2500 Bienne 4

Tél: +41 (0) 32 344 65 65
Fax: +41 (0) 32 344 65 66

info@aiguilla.ch

Baselworld

23 mars au 30 mars 2017
Halle 2.2 -Stand C23

www.baselworld.com

Emploi

Opératrices


Aiguilla SA, Ressources Humaines, Rue du Coteau 10, 2500 Bienne 4
administration@aiguilla.ch

 

Informations

Fermetures annuelles de l’entreprise:
 

Vendredi 14 juillet au vendredi 4 août 2017

Lundi 25 décembre 2017 au vendredi 5 janvier 2018
 

Contact

Aiguilla SA

Rue du Coteau 10
CH 2500 Bienne 4

Tél: +41 (0) 32 344 65 65
Fax: +41 (0) 32 344 65 66

info@aiguilla.ch

Baselworld

23 mars au 30 mars 2017
Halle 2.2 -Stand C23

www.baselworld.com

Emploi

Opératrices


Aiguilla SA, Ressources Humaines, Rue du Coteau 10, 2500 Bienne 4
administration@aiguilla.ch

 

Informations

Fermetures annuelles de l’entreprise:
 

Vendredi 14 juillet au vendredi 4 août 2017

Lundi 25 décembre 2017 au vendredi 5 janvier 2018
 

Développement

La production d’aiguilles soignées qui caractérise Aiguilla SA demande pas moins de 15 à 20 opérations par aiguille, depuis la réalisation de l’outillage et la préparation de la matière, jusqu’à la mise sur carte des aiguilles terminées pour la livraison.

Création de l’outil

Tous les outillages utilisés pour la fabrication d’une aiguille sont créés et construits dans l’atelier de mécanique d’Aiguilla. Du reste, les fabriques de machines n’ayant pas toujours été à même de répondre aux exigences techniques de la fabrication d’aiguilles de qualité, Aiguilla SA a élaboré ses propres machines et continue aujourd’hui de les développer.

Fabrication de l’aiguille

Nos aiguilles, fabriquées en laiton, en acier ou en or, pour la plupart dans un état de surface diamanté, répondent aux exigences de qualité les plus élevées et équipent les montres des marques horlogères les plus prestigieuses.

Les aiguilles sont encartées une à une, au moyen de brucelles, sur les petits cartons traditionnels et glissées sous de fins passants découpés qui les maintiendront. Un dernier travail manuel et minutieux, qui n’a jamais pu être remplacé par un procédé automatisé.

Produit fini

La collection d’Aiguilla SA est riche d’environ 10 000 formes. Mais, chacune d’elles correspondant à la demande spécifique du client, on obtient, en fin de compte, plusieurs millions de modèles.

Développement

La production d’aiguilles soignées qui caractérise Aiguilla SA demande pas moins de 15 à 20 opérations par aiguille, depuis la réalisation de l’outillage et la préparation de la matière, jusqu’à la mise sur carte des aiguilles terminées pour la livraison.


Cliquez pour visionner la vidéo

Création de l’outil

Tous les outillages utilisés pour la fabrication d’une aiguille sont créés et construits dans l’atelier de mécanique d’Aiguilla. Du reste, les fabriques de machines n’ayant pas toujours été à même de répondre aux exigences techniques de la fabrication d’aiguilles de qualité, Aiguilla SA a élaboré ses propres machines et continue aujourd’hui de les développer.

Cliquez pour visionner la vidéo

Fabrication de l’aiguille

Nos aiguilles, fabriquées en laiton, en acier ou en or, pour la plupart dans un état de surface diamanté, répondent aux exigences de qualité les plus élevées et équipent les montres des marques horlogères les plus prestigieuses.

Les aiguilles sont encartées une à une, au moyen de brucelles, sur les petits cartons traditionnels et glissées sous de fins passants découpés qui les maintiendront. Un dernier travail manuel et minutieux, qui n’a jamais pu être remplacé par un procédé automatisé.

Cliquez pour visionner la vidéo

Produit fini

La collection d’Aiguilla SA est riche d’environ 10 000 formes. Mais, chacune d’elles correspondant à la demande spécifique du client, on obtient, en fin de compte, plusieurs millions de modèles.

Cliquez pour visionner la vidéo